Project Life: Weeks 1 & 2

Here we are back at the very beginning…  I started Project Life in January 2012 and because I have only been blogging since August I wanted to make sure I could keep up with both projects before I combined the two.  Bear with me over the next few weeks since I have a backlog of layouts to get through!

Becky (please note when I refer to Becky, I am referring to Becky Higgins the creator of Project Life)  and the Project Life team really give you everything you need to get started.  In order to complete an album you will need a core kit of your choice (I am using the Cobalt edition) a box of sheet protectors (I use a combination of Design A and Design D) and a binder to put the layouts into (I am using an old one I had laying around the house, I am not sure who makes it) THAT IS IT!  You can get additional items if you want but you definitely don’t need to.
Here is my album’s opening page.  All the cards are available in the core kit and even have a diagram on the back as to where to place them.  I don’t think I followed that exactly but thats the beauty of it.  I should mention that to round the corners of my photos (to match the cards in the core kit) I use the We R Memory Keepers Crop-A-Dile Corner Chomper and I LOVE IT!  Again, not something you need but a tool you can add to your collection if you see fit.
Week One:
I included the intro card that comes in the core kit with a bit of journaling on my journey to Project Life.  Also some receipts from a girls shopping trip Isabel and I took as well as the insert from a new camera lens I got for Chanukah.
As you look at my layouts you will notice that I love inserts.  I think it is a great way to add 1-2 extra photos to the week (if you have them)  Here I have included two inserts one of photos (where I just cut an old photo protector down in size)  and then the next is a regular 8.5″x11″ sheet protector with Isabel’s daily sheets from school (she had just changed classrooms)  I just paper clipped a journal card on there and voila I am done.
You will also notice on my layouts that faces may be blurred – that is to respect privacy (especially of the other kiddos in Isabel’s class)
Here is a shot of week one on the right side without all the inserts…


Week Two:
What a crazy week!  I didn’t do individual page shots like week one, since I am still trying to get a feel for what works best.  This layout shows how we were anxiously awaiting the arrival of our new niece  then had to face flooding all over, lack of sleep and lots of stress made for a grueling start to that week.  If you are wondering what those two polaroid looking photos are… those are from my Fuji Instax Camera – Love that thing! 
So what do you think?  Let me know what your thoughts are on Project Life… I would love to hear them.  Want to know how I got hooked on Project Life? read more 
Happy Crafting!
Rene
Leave a Reply

