Isabel’s Monster Bash Part 2: Decor

Well it’s been awhile since you last heard from me and it has been crazy with work and getting ready for Isabel’s Monster Bash.  This post is dedicated to the decor of the party (be sure to check out Part 1: Invitations here So read on for some great looking ideas…

First up, I knew I wanted to have some games for the kiddos to play.  I saw this “Pin the eye on the monster” idea from Amanda’s Parties To Go and I thought that would work really well for the kids attending (all under the age of 3)  A small disclaimer – I did not follow the instructions I found but the idea was a great starting point for me!

To create the monster body, using my Brother sewing machine, I simply stitched down the middle some leftover streamers I had from a previous party. Using scotch tape I stuck them on to some great orange polka dot paper I also had left over.

As I kept going I was sure to take steps back to make sure the monster was taking the right shape

I then used scraps to fill in the sides that were a little uneven…

I made the monster eyes using my Cricut, cardstock and some rubber cement… The kids attached them using double sided tape

Moving onto the table display I used some fall decor I had on hand like the silver and purple pumpkins to create a centerpiece.  I used a teal plastic table cloth (it is in such good shape I will probably use again)  I found the cob web looking center overlay at Michaels for under $5 if I remember correctly.
Here you can also see how I start to pull all my components and put them in a central location to take inventory to see what platters I want to use, how I want things laid out etc.
Next up the beverage buffet… There is not much more I love in terms of party decorating than paper lanterns.  They are colorful, cheap and easy to store; not to mention they are really helpful in defining a space or focusing attention.  I picked these lanterns up at Party City and Hobby Lobby
To add some interest and more color I put streamers behind the beverage buffet again to define the space and draw the focus for guests.

I found these great little sparkle spiders in the Target dollar spot – they don’t get much cuter.  I chose to hang them on various doorways.
Stay tuned for my third and final post on Isabel’s Monster bash and what food I used to tie into the Monster theme!

One thought on “Isabel’s Monster Bash Part 2: Decor

Leave a Reply

