I saw it on Pinterest: Brie Bites

Even though the Jewish holidays are almost finished (one more ending tomorrow) this is the last of the Jewish holiday party food posts.  This holiday season I was really searching for “Rene’s Dish” you know the dish you become somewhat famous for and are always asked to make, then as time passes it is assumed you will make it? Well you can ask my family to confirm but I am pretty sure I hit the jackpot with this recipe I found on Pinterest via Joy the Baker.
Now for those of you that know me, I LOVE CHEESE pretty much any kind and in any form… and thankfully my daughter does too!  When I stumbled upon the Brie Pop pin I knew I had to try it, since it was such a fun spin off of the traditional baked brie.

I made a few upfront changes:

1. I did not include the stick – while there is a ton of novelty of food on a stick, this was not the impression I was going for.
2. I changed the shape – the recipe instructed to make rectangles and I made triangles.  I later made them and tried the rectangle shape with equal success so it is a moot point, do a shape you like.  I think next time I will even try a circle.
3.  Instead of just one flavor of preserves I used three – (the OCD in me for sure) no I didn’t mix them all together but I made equal bites of apricot (I knew my father-in-law would love that flavor) fig and raspberry which both are my favorites.
4. I changed the amount – I used 2 packages of puff pastry to basically double the recipe simply because I was making this for about 20 ppl the recipe yields 24 and I wanted everyone to have at least 2.
Now onto the step by step…
I used Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry – I let it sit on the counter for a bit after taking it out of the freezer and then when it felt soft to the touch I unfolded it and cut it with a square scalloped cookie cutter (are you picking up that I really like a nice scalloped edge)

I then took the brie out – I use the President brand, I love it and it tastes delicious.  I cut the round of cheese into 1/4″ thick rectangles and then cut them into squares from that.  I included the rind – it is yummy why not include it?  Plus it is a lot less work to not have to cut it off!

I folded as I finished placing a dollop of preserves on top.  I then took a fork and pressed the edges together.  I had mis-read the recipe and did not do the egg wash before hand but I assure you they did not pop open and still tasted great.

Here they are after they have been egg washed (that I thought went on the outside not the inside) and I sprinkled some kosher salt on top.  Since we were unsure of our expected lunch start time (services at every congregation last different lengths of time) I placed them on a parchment lined jelly roll pan and stuck them in the fridge.  I cooked them about 20 min later and there was no compromise in look or taste.
The finished product – so good – so hard to put down!
Happy Baking!
Rene

Leave a Reply

