I saw it on Pinterest: Rice Krispie Apple Treats

If you frequent Pinterest as much as I do (follow me) you have probably seen this cute little project floating around for Teacher Appreciation Day.


Since apples are a key component to a Rosh Hashanah celebration I thought about combining the two for a cute little gift from our family to give to our friends & family.


Here is the specific link I used as a reference from Gourmet Mom on-the-go… I say reference because I changed it up a bit and here’s how I did it.

First off the ingredients – for my version:
6 C. Krispy Rice Cereal
1 pkg. large marshmallows
3 Tbsp butter
Tootsie Roll Candies
Green Icing
Baking spray
Wax Paper
Red Food Coloring
*Note I did not use the Jello as additional flavoring

Now onto my version of the Directions:

1. Place marshmallows and butter in EXTRA LARGE microwave-safe bowl
2. Microwave on high for 2 minutes – stir at 1 min
3. Remove from the Microwave and add approximately a dozen drops of red food coloring (I wanted them to really bright)
4. Then I added in the Rice Krispies but only 2 cups at a time – much more stirring that way but less mess later.
5. THIS IS A CRITICAL STEP – Spray hands with baking spray and roll mixture into balls, if you don’t do this or at least butter up your hands the marshmallow will stick to you.
6. Then make them into balls I made mine about the size of a small baseball and put them on wax paper.

Some Assembly Notes: 

By the time I had finished the last ball (I made 10 total since they were bigger than the original recipe instructed)  the others from the start began to fall apart.  

Then I stuck in the tootsie roll and smushed the ball back together… Within a few minutes it would be back to spreading apart…OYE!

So I had an idea, I cut up small rectangles of wax paper put them into a muffin tin and stuck the rice krispie balls into them.  This way while the marshmallow was setting the muffin tin help them hold their shape.  The wax paper would mean no unfortunate dismounts for any of the finished products.

I left them that way for an hour or so.  Then I took out my tube of pre-made cake icing (the stuff you buy for $3 at the grocery store, nothing fancy) and made what I could of leaves.  Since I didn’t have any decorative tips they look pretty primitive but it works.


I then wrapped them up – attached a card Isabel and I made (those are her tiny fingers acting as pomegranate seeds) and tied it with a ribbon.


They were a big hit – what do you think?

L’Shanah Tovah – Happy New Year
Rene

One thought on “I saw it on Pinterest: Rice Krispie Apple Treats

Leave a Reply

