Party Planning: Isabel’s First Birthday

I was so excited to plan Isabel’s first birthday party!  I knew immediately that I wanted the theme to be ladybugs… but red and black seemed too regular, I thought of one of my favorite color combos, pink and green.  So with that decided I began scouting the stores.  Hobby Lobby, Michaels, Jo-ann’s, Dollar Stores, Target no store was left unturned in my crazy mission to find just the right components for her special day.

it always starts with a list (the obsessive crafter is no joke)

With numerous coupons in hand, a massive to-do list in my planner and my trusty Cricut by my side I knew I was all set so here is what I did and how I did it.  Unfortunately, I don’t have too many pictures of the steps I did but I do have a few and tons of great final outcome photos to show you

Here are a few of my initial cricut cut-outs.  I used the Walk in my Garden cartridge for the ladybugs and the Accent Essentials cartridge for the scalloped circles as well as the regular circles.

I used piles and piles of streamers/crepe paper since they are both colorful and cheap.  Streamers were looped over a piece of floral wire and stapled to create the two backdrops for the beverage and sweet buffets.  I used a ton of streamers for the flowers in the centerpiece.  They were hot glued to floral stakes and I would be lying if I told you they were easy.  Sure it involves just wrapping streamers around themselves you say… the amount of burns I accumulated could have sent me to the hospital.  So I will not be doing that again thats for sure! Attempt at your own risk is my recommendation.
 Close up of the flowers – everyone loved them but me 😉

Then I moved onto the labels of the beverage containers.  I created the 1 with Isabel over it in Microsoft word actually.  I was surprised at how easy it was – sometimes things like that can take longer than they need.  I then printed them out and used my EK Success paper shaper to cut them into circles.  A small piece of double sided tape and they were mounted onto the scalloped pink paper.  They were hole punched and tied with ribbon for the milk glasses aka Starbuck’s frappacino glasses (thanks to Amy who saved hers for me)  For the juice boxes and bottled water I used a green band of paper to cover the labels and then again double sided tape to put it all together.

Water bottle labels
Closer shot of the beverage buffet

When guests first entered the door they saw this great wreath (pictured below). You may have seen these wreaths before since they are ALL over Pinterest these days.  I took a 6 foot pipe insulator I got for $0.99 at Home Depot.  Then I shaped it into a circle to make the size circle I wanted, duct taped the ends together and began wrapping the yarn around it.  The wooden “I” was found unfinished at Michaels and I just spray painted that real quick and hot glued it on.  For the flowers I traced a cereal bowl on various colors of felt, cut out the circle and then cut the circle into a spiral.  I then rolled that spiral into a flower and hot glued the ends and then hot glued them onto the wreath.

Now onto the guest book.  Anyone that knows me knows I love a good guest book.  I even had one at the hospital when Isabel was born! Of course Isabel had to have one for her very big milestone of her 1st birthday.  Using markers,  colored pencils and crayons I had in my stash I put them in my favorite galvanized pails.  I cut 4×6″ index cards in half and used my We R Memory Keepers Crop-A-Dile Corner Chomper (love this thing!) to round all the edges.  Also pictured is my Fuji instax camera that guests could snap a photo of the action or of themselves and include in the guest book.

When guests were finished they could drop them in the Apothecary Jar to the right
If you have been searching for party ideas recently you know buffets are all the rage, whether dessert, food or beverage.  Take a look at the shots of the buffets I put together for Isabel’s big day…
Beverage Buffet featuring pink lemonade, iced tea, juice boxes and bottled water
Here are shots of the food buffet.  Snacks included popcorn, fruit salad, apples, yogurt, cake balls, crackers with basil and olives to look like ladybugs and last but not least baby bel cheeses that look like ladybugs.  I used cake decoration gel to put the spots on…

Who doesn’t love these?

Next up the “Sweet Shoppe”  Here we had merengues, white chocolate raspberry whoopie pies (which are too die for) sugar cookies and chocolate dipped oreos.  Then Not Your Everyday Cake made us this phenomenal cake for the centerpiece.  Also not pictured is a ladybug smash cake that looks just like the ladybug topper on this cake below.  It was a big hit and tasted yummy – Thanks Cindy and Melissa!

You may have noticed that above the beverage and sweet buffet were banners.  I made those using 12×12″ scrapbook paper I found at Hobby Lobby.  I printed the letters from Microsoft Word and actually used Becky Higgins free font download of her handwriting.  Then again double sided tape to stick them together, hole punched and fed a ribbon through.  I did the same for all banners you see.

 Close up of the Happy Birthday Banner

For her year in photos banner again used the same scrapbook paper, the same Corner Chomper and used left over cricut ladybug cut outs and a mini clothespins (found at Michaels) to label the month that they were from.

Sweet Shoppe Banner

The tablecloths were made by hand using green and pink polka dot fabric found at Jo-ann’s and the pink gingham was found at Hobby Lobby.  The moss balls that you see, white candle holders, glass cylinders, platters, cupcake tower were all part of my party stash.  I did purchase the beverage dispensers for about $25 each from Garden Ridge Pottery.

Some creative ways I chose to display the food was hollowing out the watermelon to use as a bowl.  Using ice cream cones to hold the fruit salad.  I used cupcake liners to hold popcorn.  Baby food jars placed over a tray with ice held the yogurt and the plain cake balls were put in mini flower cupcake wrappers found at Jo-Ann’s and placed on the cupcake stand.

I think that covers just about everything – I wish I had some more close-ups of the detailed aspects I talked about above but you live you learn… next time!  Thanks to everyone who helped make Isabel’s first birthday truly memorable!

I would love to answer questions about this party planning process so feel free to ask away!  Make sure you like us on facebook too.

Happy Crafting!
Rene

2 thoughts on “Party Planning: Isabel’s First Birthday

  1. Cassie McDaniel says:

    I've been planning my daughter's first birthday for months! I chose ladybugs too and bought a Cricut to make our invitations and the decorations! I have spent so much time on Pinterest and Google and I stumbled onto your blog and you basically put together the party I've been planning!!! I'm so excited to see that it is do-able! There are so many details and I am a newbie to the craft world 🙂

Leave a Reply

