How to organize your children’s toys part 1: The Living room

I have been hearing over and over again from friends and family about their stress when it comes to organizing their children or grandchildren’s toys.  From the time I found out I was pregnant I made a vow to myself that my house would not be full of “kid clutter” so have no fear I am here to help you!  Reclaim your adult space – every room does not have to have toys in it I promise!

My main method for staying on top of all clutter with kids toys is the following and this can be applied to any room in the house really…

Before we leave the house or go to bed I do a once over of all the rooms.  In each room I have some sort of container that I put Isabel’s toys into.  If I don’t have time or I am too tired, they are stored neatly in their respective containers.  When I do have time I then take the basket and go room by room to put everything back.  If you have a toddler you know they pull stuff out of everywhere!  This way everything finds its way back home again.

Now this requires some diligence on my (your) part but it isn’t extensive.  I have small containers because I put things away about 2-3 times a day (okay lets be honest 5-6 times a day)  If that isn’t your style get some bigger containers no harm in emptying them less frequently.  You can also leave them there as “mini” toy boxes for your kiddos to pull from later.  As I always say you have to organize for yourself – I can give you tips, products and ideas but you know what works and does not work for you.  BUT PLEASE Don’t be afraid to try something new though 😉

Luckily there are some very attractive and creative ways to store things you don’t want to see all the time.  Here are some of my favorit

Economical storage ottoman from Target.com This is great because you can put whatever you want inside and no one will ever know!

This end table with a shelf comes from Pier 1 Imports.  I love that store is one of my favs not only because I used to work there but because they have such different designs styles for great prices.  Take this end table and put a cute basket on the shelf or store things in the drawer

Do you have a bookshelf in your living room?  Lucky you! Go out and get some pretty baskets or bins that fit your shelf and store kids toys, books, movies etc in them just like below featured from Crate and Barrel

None of the above work for your space? think about a nice bench in front of window like this...

Jen from I ❤ Organizing used an Ikea Expedit bookcase to make these great benches.  The best part about Expedit is that if you want to use them later as a traditional book case you can, because they stand up as well!

No window for a bench? how about this great basket  from Pottery Barn for next to your fireplace or entertainment center?

Hope that helps you get things in order for your living room in a cost effective and aesthetically pleasing way. Stay tuned for the next part in this series How to organize your children’s toys part 2: The bathroom

Happy Organizing!
Rene

2 thoughts on “How to organize your children’s toys part 1: The Living room

Leave a Reply

